
HOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE  

• Appointments are strongly encouraged – Call Town Clerk  508-949-8004. 

• A marriage license is issued to individuals 18 and older who are to be 
married in the State of Massachusetts.  

• Applicants must appear in person together at the Clerk’s Office. 
• A photo ID is required; pre-marital blood tests are no longer required by the State. 

• The license can be issued three (3) days after the Intentions have been filed 
and can be picked up by either party. 

• A filing fee of $20.00 is due at the time of filing Intentions. (Cash or check) 

• The marriage may take place anywhere in Massachusetts during the sixty 
(60) days following the date of filing Intentions and after satisfying the 
three (3) day waiting period. (3-day waiting period can include weekends) 

• If you are not getting married by a member of the Clergy, Priest, Rabbi, 
Inman, or Justice of the Peace, then the Solemnizer must apply for a 1-Day 
Designation Certificate from the State of Massachusetts to perform 
ceremony. For more information,  https://www.mass.gov/topics/marriage-
divorce 

• If any Officiant or Solemnizer is Out of State, they must file non-resident 
Out of State Petition to officiate ceremony. For more information,  
https://www.mass.gov/topics/marriage-divorce 

• If you have waited too long to apply for your license and your wedding is to 
take place in less than three days from the date of your license application, 
you must obtain a court order to waive the three-day waiting period. 

• You may go to the either the Dudley District Court House located at 279 
West Main Street, Dudley (fee: $195.00) or Worcester Probate and Family 
Court located at 225 Main Street, Worcester (call 508-770-0825). 
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