TOWN OF DUDLEY

MASSACHUSETTS Public Information Office



Debbie LaPlaca
Public Information

71 West Main Street Dudley, MA 01571 dlaplaca@dudleyma.gov Office: 508-949-8030 Mobile: 508-847-2206

For Immediate Release

January 17, 2023

Town employees, board, commission and committee members were recognized at the January 9 Board of Selectmen's meeting for going above and beyond to keep town services operating during the dark days of the COVID-19 pandemic.

State Sen. Ryan C. Fattman and state Rep. Peter J. Durant presented statehouse citations to the Dudley Fire Department, Board of Health, Police Department, Town Hall staff, the Highway Department and the Water and Sewer Department.

The citations read "In recognition of your tireless work and selfless sacrifice to put the needs of your community about your own during the COVID-19 pandemic."

Unit citations and uniform bars were presented by Fire Chief Dean Kochanowski to Deputy Fire Chief Paul Konieczny and the entire fire/EMS staff; and by Police Chief Steven J. Wojnar to the police officers.

Both chiefs were also presented with a commendation citation, letter and uniform bar for their "honorable leadership and faithful service through the COVID-19 pandemic."

A community service award plague was presented to the town's Public Health Nurse Roberta Johnson.

Selectmen also presented public service citations to Board of Health members Jennifer Cournoyer, Lorri Ducharme and Roberta Johnson; to Town Hall staff Michelle Jervis, Debi Thibaudeau, Nelson Burlingame, Amanda Johnson and Lisa Berg; to Town Clerk Lori Smith and Assistant Town Clerk Jackie Phelps; to Veterans Service Agent Stephen P. Rogerson and clerk Pam Young, and to Town Moderator Christopher Starczewski.

The citations read, "for (your) honorable contribution toward the continuity of local government and service to the public throughout the COVID-19 global pandemic March 13, 1010 – June 15,2021."

The board also presented certificates of recognition to the Highway Department; Water-Sewer Department; Pearle E. Crawford Library staff, the Council on Aging, and the Treasurer/Collector office staff.

-30-